Saturday, September 12, 2009

It all went great

The wedding was great...went off perfectly...and all that jazz

Since the wedding was over...I will focus most of my blogging efforts on my everyday blog which can be found here: http://purplehippochick.blogspot.com/

Friday, June 12, 2009

IT'S TODAY

Why yes today is the BIG day, can you believe that? Holy Cripes!

The rehearsal went great, the quartet sounds great, everything is great...YEP.

Time to work on the slideshow and programs

Thursday, June 4, 2009

In the single digits now...

Can you believe that?...we are in the single digits now...I know, it is exciting

There is a 30% chance of rain on the 13th in the 10 day...yes, the weather does change a lot in 10 days...but remember this is freaking Kansas...we could have a sunny day and it could still find a way to rain, lol. I am not to stressed about it...but if you look at the rain chances the few days before they are increasing...so yeah. Just have to keep up on that over the next few days.

Wednesday, June 3, 2009

TEN DAYS!! TEN DAYS!!

Can you believe it? Only ten more days and I become a Mrs, it is just freaking amazing.

Everything is going good, just a little stressed about some time issues but in the long run, I think it will work out fine...well, I hope...upon hope, that it does.

Looking forward to start obsessing over the 10 day forecast. I am okay with rain, as long as it stops by 1ish and dries up by 5ish or starts raining after 8:30...anytime between 1 and 8:30 won't make all that happen, but I will deal. You know it is good luck for it to rain on your wedding day.

I have a cold right now, which is causing me to have a terribly bad sore throat...I have a feeling it will probably be gone by the end of the week, but it a little stressing right now. Now, I just got to prep the favors, the OOT bags and so much more...it should be so much fun...oh yes, lol.

Well, I finally wrote an update...Brandon should be happy.

Yep

Saturday, April 4, 2009

70 days - and a little rant for DB haters/Groomsmen attire

Okay, so for some reason this is really getting to me and it makes me want to throw things at people...there are a lot of people on weddingbook and on other wedding websites that have been calling David's Bridal the K-Mart/Wal-Mart of wedding dresses. That really sorta kinda demeans those who bought their dress at David's Bridal doesn't it. Kind of like saying, "your dress sucks because it came from David's Bridal. I am going to look down at you and think you are underneath me"

I love my dress...it is the perfect price...and is everything I wanted in a wedding dress...my heart skips a beat when I think about wearing it on the big day. I mean in the end a wedding dress is just a piece of fabric like all clothes...why the hell does it matter where the frick you get it from? 

Also honestly...all white wedding dresses, they all look the same to me. It is the same concept over and over and over. The wedding dress found on the rack of a locale bridal store can pretty much be found in the exact EVERYTHING at David's Bridal....bah. I mean really, it is all the same thing. That is one of the reasons I didn't want an all white dress, because they are all the same.

Yes, there will be a lot of people with my dress...but my dress also comes in like 12 dif colors...and a dress will look different according to the person wearing it, the bridesmaids/groomsmen outfits, the flowers, THE GROOM...bah

Why in the world does it matter? I mean really folks...are we really that narcistic? 

All righty..so with 70 days until W'day, I am in the process of getting all the groomsmen/usher/father outfits figured out. I am having some what of a hard time due to the fact that my bridesmaids are each wearing a different color...why not have the groomsmen all wear matching vests to their bridesmaid..that is easier said then done because my last bridesmaid in Holly, a matching color DOESN'T exist. I do have three of the four picked out
Geometrics peridot for the Best Man, this color actually does match the peridot bridesmaid dress, great match

Rio Chocolate for the Latte bridesmaid. There actually is a Latte vest but we both agreed, the chocolate looks a little better. We might change our minds and go with the Herringbone Latte..but yeah.

Rio Fushia for the Watermelon bridesmaid. There is a watermelon but we both LOATHE the pattern (Tuscany)...so that is pretty much out of the running. I think I was told another one of the patterns had Watermelon has a color option but not according to the Men's Warehouse website.

For my holly bridesmaid (not her dress, now discontinued) we have Herringbone Hunter (left) or Bellagio Clover (right). Brandon is wearing the Herringbone Hunter because he likes the pattern better...we could go with Bellagio Hunter..BUT..I am wearing a clover and white dress. We could do two Hunters, which will look different because Brandon is wearing a white jacket, groomsmen four is wearing a black jacket...or do the clover, because it truth they don't match EXACTLY..the dress and vest color for the clover. So um yeah..that is the problem

For ushers (which I need to find a replacement, I have some options I just don't know if they are ACTUALLY coming because they live so far away)...I am thinking something along these colors
Product Close UpProduct Close UpProduct Close UpProduct Close Up
Bah..blogger is being dumb and won't let me make those smaller but we have:
top left: Diamond Champagne
top right: Tuscany Bisque
bottom left: Tuscany Victorian Gold
bottom right: Bellagio Honey
I know I said I don't like the tuscany pattern, but it really doesn't look to bad in the light brown/golds. I am leaning more towards the two on the bottom...probably actually the Victorian Gold, I just think it pops. I will have to see those four irl before I make my final decision..but yeah

As for the fathers, my father is going to be wearing his sage-y green suit, so I am thinking about putting him in a white vest and or tie...maybe these
Product Close UpProduct Close Up
Left: diamon white and right: herringbone white. Leaning more towards the herringbone, I think that is the most suphisticated of the two.

Now for the FOG (father of the Groom). He will either be wearing a black suit or no suit at all (it is up to him, but I prefer the suit) and I am thinking of some like rustic colored vests like
Product Close UpProduct Close UpProduct Close Up
Top left: Diamond Gold (looks more green, almost the same color as my father's suit)
Top right: Bella Luna Cognac
Bottom: Geometrics Truffle
My two faves are the "gold" and the "truffle"...probably another one of those choices I will make when I see them in person.

So I guess it sounds like I need to get into a mens warehouse soon...yep

Okay, well that was long and fun, I guess

Tuesday, March 24, 2009

81 days - So much yet so little

Yep, 81 days..I know, that is amazing...can't believe we are in the 2.5 month mark...wowser, thought it would never come.

Hmm, the bridal shower was fun, I and everybody else there totally failed on getting pictures of the occasions..whoops, that does sort of suck...but oh well. I will survive I guess. The virtual thing failed, well, sorta, but I guess that happens. Lol. What cracks me up is the Aunt who suggested I do a virtual shower forgot about it...oh noes.

Hmm..no longer looking for a polka dot dress...I found the perfect rehearsal dinner dress at JCPenney outlet the other day. It is sage-y green with trees and birds pattern in browns, pinks and yellows..I love it, it is better then the other dress. I also found a really awesome dress for the honeymoon.

My mum also found an great mother of the bride dress...I love it, it works perfectly and all that jazz.

Well I don't have much else to say except I gotta set up a meeting with the reception site manager and also a meeting with the minister...yep.

Gotta get invites designed/printed/stuffed so I can get them mailed out in the next 2ish or so weeks

What else? Hmm...currently trying ot find if there are any rules to hyphenating names...so far no luck..but I don't know..lol 

Friday, March 6, 2009

99 days and in search of a pink/white/brown polka dot dress

Yes folks, we are now in the double digits...much fun. Wow, it is going to go soo quickly...can't wait for Spring Break to cross of a lot of stuff of my to do list

Like
  • invites
  • card box
  • set up various appointments
  • accessory purchases
  • favor designs and builds
  • rehearsal dinner plans
Speaking of the rehearsal dinner, I am like in a desperate search for a pink/white/brown polka dot dress...something that looks like this
but not that dress because that dress is for a little girls and would in no way fit me. DEB had one awhile back that I like fell in love with but they only had a size small (of course, stores never have the right size in a dress/shirt/pants/sweater that I fall in love with, bah)...if anybody knows of one anywhere that is like a size 12-16 or an XL, please let me know..I am desperate. It would be even awesomer if it had some green polka dots in there as well...but it isn't a big deal

Someone one weddingbook found this dress, I like it, but I think it might be a little too conservative for my liking...will keep looking! 


Thursday, March 5, 2009

100 Days

OMG, my wedding countdown clock today reads 100 days...wow, that is big, I thought this day would NEVER come...There is so much to do, yet  so little. Wow, the next 100 days are going to go fast!

Tomorrow, bring on the double digits

Sunday, March 1, 2009

MissNowMrs.com

If you are not aware I have finally decided about what I am going to do about the great name change debate after I get married.

Well, I have finally decided that I am going to legally change my name to
Katrina Aileen Schafer Dudek-Schubach but go as
Katrina Schubach in normal everyday social circles

I decided on this because well I like my last name and I want to keep it but I also would like to take his name...so it is the best of both worlds

It is supposed to make the hassle of getting all those legal documents changed over to your new name. Sounds like it might be good. To get the kit that does the WHOLE shebang it costs just $30 which really isn't bad. 

That is all I have to say about that!

Tuesday, February 24, 2009

A Random Hodgepodge of Topics

I finished the guestbook, it looks awesome...so not to ruin anybodies surpise I am not going to show pictures at this time...I might change my mind....just not in the mood.

I also completely overhauled and redisigned the programs, I don't have pictures of them currently because I am looking for better paper to pring them out to show the better final effect. Let us just say, they are awesome.

Okay, now we are going to talk about the dress of the future mother in law. This little rant of sorts was brought up by a post that showed up on weddingbook recently about this girl who was pissed off because her FMIL bought a dress that is purple and not claret or pale yellow. Okay, for one thing...claret, I would consider is actually a purple-y shade of red, so no problem there. I even proved to her with this awesome little paint dealy, I made

Doesn't that look lovely together..I certainly think so...

Honestly if my FMIL decides to wear BRIGHT orange, I honestly don't think I would give a hoot. Well, I might but very little because at least she got a dress she loves in a color she likes. About the only stipulation I have on FMIL and my mother's dress is that they don't look too bridesmaid-y, that is only really because I have so many colors...you know what...that really doesn't bother me either..I guess the big one is that it isn't a low cut, clingy over sexy dress..and honestly, I have a great confidence in both my FMIL and my mother. 

I have to admit, I really like those colors together, I think it would make an awesome scarf or something...oh yeah, that would be awesome. 

Hmm..what else..overhaul of the website, also looks totally awesome. Eventually when we finish up the song selections I will post a blog about why we chose those songs and all that jazz...isn't that grand.

Hmm, I have also began my cardbox, I need to get to a craft store to buy the rest of the supplies..like some fabric and stuff. I think it will be awesome and it is even cooler because I am making it out of found boxes around the house..so I am recycling, gotta love recycling.

I also  sent out my bridal shower invites...they look awesome. The shower is on the 17th of March...I know it soon but since it is being broadcasted online, it all should be fine..yep

Well that is all!

Wednesday, February 18, 2009

Bridal Shower

Hello folks out there, it sounds like the live/virtual bridal shower will be on March 17th sometime in the evening. My MOH and I are currently in planning stages..so far al lI know is that we will be using skype for our virtualness and also archiving it somehow for the ones who do not have skype or unable to be home/there that evening.

We are also in the middle of completely overhauling our website and make it working again...I will give you an update when I know more on that front.

I am also in the middle of designing my own card box, should be awesome. I am also in the middle of designing my own guestbook, I am having a difficult time coming up with a way to make the places for the signatures.

Well, I am off to spend some time with Photoshop to create some more graphics for the website